Subscribe to:

9 nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame

New poker players have been included in the list of nominees for the Poker Hall of Fame. Candidates will be voted on by 15 members of the Poker Hall of Fame and 15 members of the media. The players will receive at least 75% of the votes will be included in the Hall of Fame poker world.

The ceremony will be held November 7 at the Rio Casino in Las Vegas during the dinner break of the final table of Main Event World Series of Poker 2009.

To be nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame, a person must participate in the most prestigious international competitions poker, betting large sums of money to remain on the global poker scene, having positive results and contribute to overall development and success of the game in the world.

In total, 37 players have been nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame since its inception in 1979. Therefore, one or two players are included each year. The nominees this year are Dan Harrington, Barry Greenstein, Phil Ivey, Tom McEvoy, Men “The Master” Nguyen, Scotty Nguyen, Daniel Negreanu, Erik Seidel and Mike Sexton.

They are all active players at the WSOP and WPT. Three of them are champions of the WSOP Main Event: McEvoy in 1983, Herrington in 1995 and Scotty Nguyen in 1998. Phil Ivey is one of 9 finalists in the WSOP Main Event this year and we consider it the best chance of winning.

Barry Greenstein, Scotty Nguyen, Tom McEvoy, Phil Ivey and Daniel Negreanu are on the list of 40 best poker players in the world.